Things About Israel

We all know my country sucks. It’s run by idiots. It does stupid, unnecessary things, the most recent of which is denying Noam Chomsky’s entry into the country. It’s really a bit shit by all accounts. Reading the comments to the original article I read on Ynet (local news website) makes me want to die a little. I think my favorite one was titled “A radical left person” and the content said “call the child by his proper name – traitor” (very badly translated by yours truly). The few sane people who dare voice their comments are branded traitors as well as insane by others.

Anyway, I somewhat digress, the point was – Israel is a bit shit.

Israel is a bit shit, but still I love our flag. This realisation came to me when yesterday, sitting in the garden talking to tourists, this Russian girl pointed out how strange it is to see so many flags in Israel and how she thinks it’s crazy. They don’t hang flags around in Russia, apparently. Another Russian girl suggested that it’s because Russians aren’t actually proud of their country. Russian girl #1 protested wildly. Either way, it doesn’t matter. What matters is, I love our flag. I don’t have it hanging around, but the sight of it is comforting in a way very few people from the ‘outside’ could understand.

Which brings me to my next point, which is Israel is a bit shit, but it’s all I have. Another thing that was said yesterday is that we have to be proud of our country because it’s all we have, we have no where else to go. To this I say no, I’m not proud of my country. My country has lost its way many many years ago and is stumbling around in darkness, digging its own grave. But regardless of how much I want to get away from here all the time, it’s still my country. I’m not proud of my country, I’m ashamed of my country for many things, but I still love it. I don’t know if that makes any sense, but it’s just the way it is. I guess it’s like in the song: I have no other country, even if my land if burning (again, should probably stop translating now). The sad truth is that, regardless of whether I want to go live elsewhere or not, elsewhere doesn’t want me and won’t have me. It’s the reason we all gathered here in the first place, for those of us who have forgotten.

I think I should stop babbling now.

Yours truly, a leftist traitor.

Leave a Reply

