Confusion

Girl at work: “Do they also use shekels in Palestine?”

This question had me blinking in confusion, until I understood that she means the West Bank. It probably shouldn’t have been all that confusing, but that’s just the kind of day I had. When she saw my confusion, she asked whether we don’t call the West Bank “Palestine” and I had to explain that no, and that the reason that they do in Denmark is really good PR of the Palestinians, since Palestine isn’t and never was a country. I suppressed the urge to explain further that the West Bank used to be Jordan and all that. Strange that they don’t call the people there Jordanians, now that I think about it.

 

Confusion #2 came with a phone call, when a woman who asked my name proceeded to talk to me in Arabic. Apparently, Katy is an obvious Arab name…?

Leave a Reply

