Quiet

I often find myself unable to shut off all the noises in my head. So many thoughts, scattered in all directions, jumping from one subject to the next, dwelling on things that I shouldn’t dwell on, skipping over things that should be thought on more deeply. Mostly, my mind likes to go over and over and over all the “what ifs” and “maybes”. In other words – drive me crazy.

But occasionally, I find ways to make it shut the fuck up. Oddly enough, alcohol doesn’t normally help. Or maybe I’m just using it wrong. Recently, I’ve found something that works, even if I don’t do it nearly as often as I should. Maybe if I do it too much, it’ll lose the magic.

The secret is this, and it’s very simple: music and the beach.

Loud music to distract from thoughts, music to drown out any unruly thought that dares to surface unwanted, music to sing to.

And the beach. The wind in my face, the salty smell of the ocean, and watching the tide.

It works only temporarily, but it works.

My own little moments of magic.

Leave a Reply

